2017 Calendar of Events

January

London Evening Lecture:
“Sea Lion and Beyond”
Tuesday 10 January 2017

The Geological Society of London

Aberdeen Coffee Morning
Tuesday 10 January 2017

The Tramsheds Coffee Shop, Aberdeen Science Centre

AAPG/PESGB Basin Mastery Workshop:
Gulf of Mexico, Caribbean and northern South American Region
Tuesday 17 January 2017

PESGB Offices, Croydon 

Aberdeen Evening Lecture:
“Clair field: Fracture model, 40 years after discovery”
Tuesday 17 January 2017
The Copthorne Hotel

Surrey Branch Meeting
Wednesday 18 January 2017

The White House Pub, Guildford

YP Aberdeen Pub Quiz
Thursday 19 January 2017
The Albyn, Aberdeen

YP Seminar: Geoscience and Geopressure – combining the knowns and unknowns in prediction
Thursday 19 January 2017
Shell, London Offices

Three Counties Branch Meeting:
The New Finds of this Century in Offshore Northern and East Africa – Challenging the Paradigms
Thursday 26 January 2017

Stable Bar, The Three Tuns, Henley-on-Thames

Aberdeen Surviving the Downturn Workshop
Tuesday 31 January 2017

The Copthorne Hotel

February

AAPG/PESGB Oil Finders’ Lunch:
Statoil Exploration in the UK: A ‘One North Sea’ Approach
Thursday 2 February 2017

The Atholl Hotel, Aberdeen

Aberdeen Coffee Morning
Tuesday 7 February 2017

The Tramsheds Coffee Shop, Aberdeen Science Centre

AAPG/PESGB Technical Mastery Workshop:
Sand Injectites: Characteristics & Implications for Exploration and Production
Tuesday 7 February 2017

PESGB Offices, Croydon

London Evening Lecture:
Getting more for less: Frequent low-cost seismic monitoring solutions for offshore fields

Tuesday 14 February 2017

The Geological Society of London

Liverpool Inaugural Branch Meeting
Wednesday 15 February 2017
University of Liverpool

Aberdeen Evening Lecture:
Getting more for less: Frequent low-cost seismic monitoring solutions for offshore fields
Tuesday 21 February 2017

The Copthorne Hotel

Aberdeen Surviving the Downturn Workshop
Tuesday 28 February 2017
The Copthorne Hotel

March

Carbonate Reservoirs Course
Thursday 2 March 2017
PESGB Offices, Croydon

Aberdeen Coffee Morning
Tuesday 7 March 2017
The Tramsheds Coffee Shop, Aberdeen Science Centre

London Evening Lecture:
Under the Jack-hammer: Glacial Impacts on North Sea Petroleum Systems
Tuesday 14 March 2017
The Geological Society of London

Surrey Branch Meeting
Wednesday 15 March 2017
White House Pub, Guildford

London Surviving the Downturn Workshop
Thursday 16 March 2017
ENGIE, Holborn Viaduct

Aberdeen Evening Lecture
Navigating the drilling window, improving drilling safety and assessing seal breach
Tuesday 21 March 2017
The Copthorne Hotel

Three Counties Branch Meeting: UK Geoparks and Geotourism
Thursday 23 March 2017
Stable Bar, The Three Tuns, Henley-on-Thames

Aberdeen Surviving the Downturn Workshop
Tuesday 28 March 2017
The Copthorne Hotel

April

GEOLiteracy Festival: Ken on Tour
Saturday 8 April 2017 / Kimmeridge Bay Field Trip
Saturday 8 April 2017 / Etches Collection Museum, Dorset
Sunday 9 April 2017 / Lyme Regis Fossil Festival
Monday 10 April 2017 / Natural History Museum
Tuesday 11 April 2017 / Stoneley Lecture @ Cavendish Centre, London
Wednesday 12 April 2017 / The Lapworth Museum, Birmingham
Friday 14 April 2017 / Stoneley Lecture @ Aberdeen Science Centre
Saturday 15 April 2017 / Edinburgh Science Festival, Edinburgh 

London Surviving the Downturn Workshop
Thursday 20 April 2017

The Old Red Sandstone & Highland Border Complex at Glen Esk Field Trip
Saturday 29 April 2017

May

London Evening Lecture
Tuesday 9 May 2017
The Geological Society of London 

DEVEX
9-10 May 2017
AECC

North Sea Petroleum Geology Course
9-11 May 2017
PESGB Offices, Croydon

Aberdeen Evening Lecture
Tuesday 16 May 2017
The Copthorne Hotel

Surrey Branch Meeting
Wednesday 17 May 2017
The White House Pub, Guildford

London Surviving the Downturn Workshop
Thursday 18 May 2017

Three Counties Branch Meeting
Thursday 25 May 2017
Stable Bar, The Three Tuns, Henley-on-Thames 

Brittle Deformation, Hydrocarbon Generation And Fluid Migration, Triassic-Lower Jurassic, North Somerset Field Trip
26 – 28 May 2017

June

AAPG/PESGB Oil Finders Lunch
Thursday 1 June 2017
The Atholl Hotel, Aberdeen

Tectono-Stratigraphy, Sedimentology and Reservoir Geology of the Cleveland Basin Jurassic – North Sea Reservoir Analogues
9 -11 June 2017

London Evening Lecture
Tuesday 13 June 2017
The Geological Society of London

Aberdeen Evening Lecture
Tuesday 20 June 2017
The Copthorne Hotel

What Geoscientists need to know about developments
Wednesday 21 June 2017
PESGB Offices, Croydon

July

London Evening Lecture
Tuesday 11 July 2017
The Geological Society of London

Surrey Branch Meeting
Wednesday 19 July 2017
The White House Pub, Guildford

August

Aberdeen Evening Lecture
Tuesday 15 August 2017
The Copthorne Hotel

Petroleum Systems of North Africa & the Mediterranean 
Wednesday 30 August 2017

African E&P Conference
Thursday 31 August – Friday 1 September
Business Design Centre

September

AAPG/PESGB Oil Finders Lunch
Thursday 7 September 2017
The Atholl Hotel, Aberdeen

London Evening Lecture
Tuesday 12 September 2017
The Geological Society of London

Aberdeen Evening Lecture
Tuesday 19 September 2017
The Copthorne Hotel

Surrey Branch Meeting
Wednesday 20 September 2017
The White House Pub, Guildford

October

Sequence Stratigraphy for Petroleum Exploration
9-10 October 2017
PESGB Offices, Croydon

Reservoir characterisation of deep water systems impact from exploration to production
11-13 October 2017
PESGB Offices, Croydon

London Evening Lecture
Tuesday 10 October 2017
The Geological Society of London

Aberdeen Evening Lecture
Tuesday 17 October 2017
The Copthorne Hotel

November

London Evening Lecture
Tuesday 14 November 2017
The Geological Society of London

Surrey Branch Meeting
Wednesday 15 November 2017
The White House Pub, Guildford

Aberdeen Evening Lecture
Tuesday 21 November 2017
The Copthorne Hotel

AAPG/PESGB Oil Finders Lunch
Thursday 30 November 2017
The Atholl Hotel, Aberdeen

December

Aberdeen Party
Tuesday 5 December 2017

PROSPEX
13-14 December 2017
Business Design Centre

President’s Evening
Thursday 14 December 2017

%d bloggers like this: